Moment Of Clarity
Review by Willard Manus

Here’s another compelling new album, MOMENT OF CLARITY, which highlights the work of drummer/composer Paul Shaw and his quintet.

Shaw makes his recording debut as leader on this one, which features seven of his own tunes. Backed by Alex Sipiagin (trumpet), Brad Shepik (guitar), Gary Versace (piano) and Drew Gress (acoustic bass), Shaw dazzles with his delicate, precise drum work. Never showy or selfish, his virtuosity is matched by his band-mates, who play together in joyous, harmonious fashion.

Shaw tends to favor lyrical, haunting pieces (“A Song for Everyone” and “Moment of Clarity”) but he can heat up and swing as well (as evidenced by “Mary Oliver” and “Showdown”).