Hurricane Mouse
Review by Willard Manus

Here is some fresh, exciting jazz from the Justin Rothenberg Group, a New York-based quintet. Rothenberg, a superb guitarist, composed eleven of the twelve tunes on HURRICANE MOUSE, all of which get fiery renditions by his youthful bandmates: Todd Groves (woodwinds), Jon Price (bass), Hiroyuki Matsura (drums) and Andy O'Neill (percussion).

As an ensemble they are proficient not just in jazz (check out "The Layoff Song," eight minutes of high-flying funk) but in a variety of other musical forms: folk, Caribbean, rock, touches of classical and even Arabic ("G-Sus Band"). While crossing these borders and playing with energy and finesse, Rothenberg's band makes fresh, provocative music from beginning to end.
Rothenberg studied at City College and went on to play with Petula Clark, Taylor Dane and The King Django Band. He has also appeared on numerous Broadway and Off-Broadway cast albums--and performed twice with the New World Symphony.

This is his third album as leader. It is an impressive achievement, experimental jazz at its best.